Muddy Waters & The Rolling Stones – Live At The Checkerboard Lounge (videos)

On 22 November 1981, in the middle of their mammoth American tour, the Rolling Stones arrived in Chicago prior to playing 3 nights at the Rosemont Horizon. Long influenced by the Chicago blues, the band paid a visit to Buddy Guy’s club the Checkerboard Lounge to see the legendary bluesman perform. It didn’t take long before Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Ronnie Wood and Ian Stewart were joining in on stage and later Buddy Guy and Lefty Dizz also played their part. It was a unique occasion that was fortunately captured on camera. Now, restored from the original footage and with sound mixed and mastered by Bob Clearmountain, this amazing blues night is being made available in an official release for the first time.
-The Rolling Stones’ YouTube channel


  1. Sweet Little Angel
  2. Flip Flop and Fly (Big Joe Turner & His Blues Kings cover)
  3. You Don’t Have to Go (Jimmy Reed cover)
  4. Country Boy
  5. Baby, Please Don’t Go (Joe Williams’ Washboard Blues Singers cover)
  6. I’m Your Hoochie Coochie Man (Willie Dixon cover)Long Distance Call
  7. Long Distance Call
  8. Mannish Boy
  9. Got My Mojo Working (Ann Cole cover)
  10. Next Time You See Me (Junior Parker cover)
  11. One Eyed Woman
  12. Clouds in My Heart
  13. Champagne & Reefer

Invited up onstage during “Baby Please Don’t Go”, Mick Jagger has rather less stylish couture sense, his red Ellesse jogging-suit making him appear all the more like Muddy’s court jester as he attempts his characteristic prancing in a space barely big enough to stand in. Keith joins him, clambering over the tables to reach the stage, followed by Ronnie, both guitarists clearly on their mettle for this trip to the fount of blues truth.
-Andy Gill (


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.