October 13: Bob Dylan – Upper Darby, PA 1988 – Soundcheck & Full concert

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_message message_box_color=”mulled_wine” icon_fontawesome=”fa fa-quote-left”]After a three-week break, Dylan has scheduled four shows in New York with two warmup shows on the outskirts of Philadelphia to conclude his 1988 touring activities. Before the first Philadelphia show, Dylan has an extended soundcheck during which he runs through three country classics with the band: “Give My Love to Rose,” “I Don’t Hurt Anymore,” and ‘Tm Moving On.” The show itself is Dylan’s first since 1986 to feature over 20 songs, including a seven-song encore, four acoustic, three electric, concluding with an impressive “Every Grain of Sand.” “Bob Dylan’s 115’th Dream” and “With God on Our Side” are included. The notion of a full-band version of “Bob Dylan’s 115th Dream” sounds amazing, but in reality Dylan strips it of all its humor.
–>Clinton Heylin (A life in Stolen Moments)[/vc_message][/vc_column][/vc_row]

The Tower Theatre
Upper Darby, Pennsylvania
13 October 1988

  • Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar)
  • G.E. Smith (guitar)
  • Kenny Aaronson (bass)
  • Christopher Parker (drums)

Soundcheck before concert

1. Give My Love To Rose (Johnny Cash)
2. Give My Love To Rose (Johnny Cash)
3. I Don’t Hurt Anymore (Don Robertson-Jack Rollins)
4. I’m Movin’ On (Hank Snow)
5. What’d I Say (Ray Charles)

Soundcheck was taped from the outside through the door.


1. Subterranean Homesick Blues
2. Absolutely Sweet Marie
3. Masters Of War
4. You’re A Big Girl Now
5. Shelter From The Storm
6. Bob Dylan’s 115th Dream
7. Highway 61 Revisited

8. With God On Our Side
9. Girl From The North Country
10. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
11. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door

12. Silvio (Bob Dylan & Robert Hunter)
13. I Shall Be Released
14. Like A Rolling Stone

15. One Too Many Mornings
16. The Lonesome Death Of Hattie Carroll
17. Barbara Allen (trad.)
18. The Times They Are A-Changin’
19. All Along The Watchtower
20. Maggie’s Farm
21. Every Grain Of Sand

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_separator][vc_btn title=”Borntolisten @ Facebook” color=”blue” i_icon_fontawesome=”fa fa-facebook-official” add_icon=”true” link=”url:https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FJohannasVisions%2F||target:%20_blank|”][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_message message_box_style=”outline” icon_fontawesome=”fa fa-link” css_animation=”bounceIn”]Check out:


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.