Classic Concert: Muddy Waters at Rockpalast 1978

Muddy Waters Bluesband live at Rockpalast is a great document of a fantastic musician and stage personality. It really shows Muddy’s magnetism and skill in working a crowd. Especially when he abandons his guitar for “Mannish Boy” and at the end prowls the stage, manic preaching-style, as he jumps up and down, bemoaning the fact that “another mule is kicking in your stall”. His falsetto is sweet and true here, and gives us a glimpse of the strong sexual attraction Waters exuded in the fifties. What an artist, what a stage presence!

This is a fabulous blues concert!


Muddy Waters – vocal, guitar
Calvin Jones – bass
Luther “Guitar Junior” Johnson – guitar, voc
Bob Margolin – guitar
Jerry Portnoy – harmonica
Willie Smith – drums
Pinetop Perkins – piano, vocal

01 ? (4’23”)
02 ? (5’00”)
03 Hoochie Coochie Man (5’03”)
04 12th Of April (4’32”)
05 Baby Please Don’t Go (3’27”)
06 Call Me Muddy Waters (7’48”)
07 Walkin’ Thru The Park (3’07”)
08 Country Boy (4’50”)
09 Kansas City (6’55”)
10 Caledonia (4’55”)
11 Everything’s Gonna Be Alright (3’00”)
12 Mannish Boy (6’20”)
13 Got My Mojo Working (2’30”)
14 Sweethome Chiacago (4’15”)

– Hallgeir

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.