December 8: Bob Dylan – Night of The Hurricane, New York 1975

bob dylan night of the hurricane

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_message message_box_color=”mulled_wine” icon_fontawesome=”fa fa-quote-left”]The people from the Hurricane Carter movement kept calling me and writing me. And Hurricane sent me his book, which I read and which really touched me. I felt that the man was just innocent, from his writings and knowing that part of the country. So I went to visit him and was really behind him, trying to get a new trial.
~Bob Dylan (to Bill Flanagan, March 1985)

Tonight is billed as “The Night of the Hurricane,” and Dylan is in a good mood, dedicating one song to Al Grossman, who is in the audience and “‘is not running for President” (a dig at Muhammad Ali’s attempts to turn the benefit into a political rally). Baez hams it up during her set with Dylan, and Robbie Robertson joins the Revue for a great “It Takes a Lot to Laugh.” Although not as inspired a performance as Montreal, the concert ends the tour on a high note. The traditional end-of-tour party is at the Felt Forum after the show. The partying continues at a restaurant near the Westbury Hotel.
~Clinton Heylin (Bob Dylan: A Life in Stolen Moments Day by Day 1941-1995)[/vc_message][/vc_column][/vc_row]

The last show of the 1975 tour @ Madison Square Garden, New York City – 8 December 1975.

The show was a benefit concert for the imprisoned boxer, Hurricane Carter, hence the name of the show: “The Night of the Hurricane.” Special guests for the night: Robert Flack and Muhammad Ali.

Madison Square Garden
New York City, New York
8 December 1975
Night of The Hurricane

  • Bob Dylan (vocal, guitar)
  • Bob Neuwirth (guitar)
  • T-bone J. Henry Burnett (guitar)
  • Roger McGuinn (guitar)
  • Steven Soles (guitar)
  • Mick Ronson (guitar)
  • David Mansfield (steel guitar, violin, mandolin ,dobro)
  • Rob Stoner (bass)
  • Howie Wyeth (piano, drums)
  • Luther Rix (drums, percussion)
  • Ronee Blakeley (vocal)

  1. When I Paint My Masterpiece
  2. It Ain’t Me, Babe
  3. The Lonesome Death Of Hattie Carroll
  4. Tonight I’ll Be Staying Here With You
  5. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry
  6. Romance In Durango (Bob Dylan–Jacques Levy/Bob Dylan)
    This is Scarlet here, Scarlet Rivera … don’t clap yet! We’re got a new song to play for you. It’s called Romance In Durango. Influenced by the past and a bridge to the future.
  7. Isis (Bob Dylan–Jacques Levy/Bob Dylan)
    Here’s another new song. This is about the marriage ceremony between man and woman, it’s what happens when you get married, called Isis.

  8. The Times They Are A-Changin’
  9. Dark As A Dungeon (Merle Travis)
  10. Mama, You Been On My Mind
  11. Never Let Me Go (Joseph C. Scott)
  12. I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine
  13. I Shall Be Released
    Gonna dedicate this song to Mr. Richard Manuel, who does it so well.
  14. Love Minus Zero/No Limit
  15. Simple Twist Of Fate
  16. Oh, Sister (Bob Dylan–Jacques Levy/Bob Dylan)
    Gonna dedicate this to all our sisters out there tonight.
  17. Hurricane (Bob Dylan–Jacques Levy/Bob Dylan)
    We’re gonna play this song now. This is what this concert, or this show is all about, and this person, he’s a beautiful man, and beauty should never be in prison.
  18. One More Cup Of Coffee (Valley Below)
  19. Sara
    Lots of people make up the Rolling Thunder Revue, a lot of people who make it up you don’t see, and we are the Rolling Thunder Revue, and we shall return!
  20. Just Like A Woman
  21. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door
  22. This Land Is Your Land (Woody Guthrie)

Full show

Dylan & Ali

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_message message_box_color=”mulled_wine” icon_fontawesome=”fa fa-quote-left”]The concluding date of Bob Dylan’s legendary 1975 Rolling Thunder Revue tour doubled as a benefit for wrongly imprisoned prizefighter Rubin Carter, the subject of Dylan’s famed narrative “Hurricane.” An excellent companion to Sony’s official release The Bootleg Series, Vol. 5: Live 1975, this unauthorized two-disc set captures the performance in its entirety, complete with superior sound quality and a beautiful package that mirrors Sony’s own aesthetics. The fiery, sinuous folk-rock sound that defined the Rolling Thunder dates reaches its apex here. Familiar songs like “It Ain’t Me, Babe,” “Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door,” and “Just Like a Woman” radiate new life, galvanized by Dylan’s impassioned vocals and his all-star band’s crackling energy.
~Jason Ankeny ([/vc_message][/vc_column][/vc_row]

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_separator][vc_btn title=”Borntolisten @ Facebook” color=”blue” i_icon_fontawesome=”fa fa-facebook-official” add_icon=”true” link=”||target:%20_blank|”][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_message message_box_style=”outline” icon_fontawesome=”fa fa-link” css_animation=”bounceIn”]Check out:


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.