Classic concert: Muddy Waters at Copenhagen Jazz festival in 1968 (video)

McKinley Morganfield (April 4, 1913 – April 30, 1983), known professionally as Muddy Waters, was an American blues singer-songwriter and musician who is often cited as the “father of modern Chicago blues”.

This short and sweet set from Denmark, 27th October 1968 is a great showcase of his electric blues. It is a blistering concert with a great band, especially the great Otis Spann on piano. The sound and picture are both high broadcasting quality.


01. “Back At The Chicken Shack”
02. “Train Fare Home Blues”
03. “(I’m Your) Hoochie Coochie Man”
04. “Long Distance Call”
05. “Nobody Knows My Trouble”
06. “Cold Cold Feeling”
07. “Got My Mojo Working”
08. “Tiger In Your Tank”

Muddy Waters – guitar & vocals
‘Pee Wee’ Madison – guitar
Luther “Snakeboy” Johnson – guitar
Otis Spann – piano
Paul Oscher – harmônica
Sonny Wimberley – bass
S.P. Leary – drums

– Hallgeir

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.